The Maharashtra government has declared Pune Metropolitan Region Development Authority (PMRDA) as the planning authority for 23 newly merged villages under the ambit of Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC).

In a major revelation, the Pune Metropolitan Region Development Authority (PMRDA) will grant building permission in 23 villages that have recently been merged into the Pune Municipal Corporation’s (PMC) limits. The villages that have been incorporated into the civic body, making it the largest municipality in the State, include Mahalunge, Sus, Pisoli, Kopare, Nanded, Khadakwasla, Narhe, Holkarwadi, Wadachiwadi, Nandoshi, Bhilarewadi, Manjri Budruk and Wagholi.

As per the sources, all works related to planning will be vested with PMRDA from now onwards. While PMC will no longer provide the building permission in these villages, it will still bear the expenses of these areas. According to sources, the civic body will lose around Rs 200 crore in the form of revenue from building permissions. As revealed by an official data, the civic body earns around Rs 800 crore, on average, from building permissions every year.

Illegal constructions in these villages is another major concern for PMC as the civic body will have to spend money to curb the spread of unauthorised properties in these areas.